The Midlands Rugby League began in 2006 summer season as a "Merit League" for men's clubs who were below the standard of the Rugby League Conference.

The league expanded in 2007 and 2008 to take in a wider catchment area, covering Yorkshire and the North West as well as the Midlands area.

In 2009, three separate adult leagues were run - Midlands, Yorkshire and North West as well as three junior leagues in the Midlands at Under 12s, Under 14s and Under 16s.

The 2010 season saw the league revert its focus to the Midlands, with just a single men's division underpinned by the three youth leagues.

2011 saw a departure from competitive activity below Under 16s, however the league introduced an Under 18s league to assist the transition of younger players into the adult environment.

For the 2012 season, the Midlands Rugby League will undertake the running of all Tier 4 Rugby League activity as part of the new RFL Competition Structure, offering three divisions of men's competition, Under 18s and Under 16s Boys leagues and a non-competitive programme for Under 14s, Under 13s, Under 11s and Under 9s Boys and Under 12s Girls.

In addition to running the league activity, the Midlands Rugby League also organises the Annual Origin Series which sees the East Midlands and West Midlands square off at Under 18s, Under 15s, Under 14s and Under 13. The Origin series allows gifted and talented players to showcase their abilities and at Under 18s forms part of the England Community Lions pathway.